I never thought I’d spend my 21st birthday in Haiti with twin baby boys and 16 kids, but I couldn’t have imagined anything better. After breakfast, Jennifer had some of the little kids line up and individually sing ‘Happy Birthday’ and hand me flowers. It was the sweetest surprise. Faboula made one of my favorite dishes for lunch, a corn mash with bean sauce and she made the best fruit granitas for desert. Sue wore my favorite outfit that she owns and throughout the day I was constantly receiving cards and gifts. When the boys were taking their nap, I had a phone call from my sister. After the babies went to bed, Betchina and Scheelanda sat on my lap as we all watched the movie Matilda. After the movie Jennifer asked me if I had a good birthday, and I told her it was one of the best. Then the boys asked me if I would sleep on the porch with them and they even helped me carry my mattress out. Being in Haiti has shown me that it’s the little things that make life special, and that’s one of the reasons why I love it  here so much.

Every time one of the kids calls my name or runs up to give me a hug, my heart melts. I can’t believe that in just one week I will be back home in the United States and they won’t be a part of my life anymore. There are so many things that I am going to miss here. But I also have a sense of closure, knowing that it’s time to leave. I think that preparing to leave is one of the most bittersweet experiences I have ever gone through. Please pray for my transition home.

Last Saturday we moved to Christianville. The move was a lot more of a challenge than we expected and the transition of living here hasn’t been easy either. A lot of things didn’t go as planned and we were without power for our first few days.

But everyday gets better, God is taking care of our needs and everyone is getting into more of a routine. I was so anxious the first few days we were here, but He has given me an indescribable peace about being here. Our home is much smaller Pray for everyone as they adjust to living here and develop a routine. Pray for Sue as she organizes everything and everyone and manages their new life here.
Image

Image

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. jerrine brugh says:

    oh mallorie, my love. i am crying thinking about you leaving a whole new bunch of loved ones. but we want you here too.

Leave a Reply

